About Us

dancerVision

Atelier Rainbow Tanzkunst (ART) expresses the idea of an artist's workspace where dance and body awareness are taught and experienced as a continuum of movement that arches, spirals and circles through the constant fluctuations of the ever changing rainbow.

Mission

Introducing new techniques, styles and influences that keep the art of dance alive and vibrant is a main focus of the school. ART, with its faculty of professional dancers, strives to train future generations of dancers by continuing to share the traditions and legacies of the diverse and lavish heritage of dance.

Philosophy and Spirit

ART wishes to instill in each student the skill, discipline, respect for precision and joy of expression through dance, regardless of career goals. One of the most important objectives of our school is to create a positive atmosphere for progressive training, in order to ensure that each pupil enjoys personal attention, motivation, and inspiration. The school strives to encourage, respect and challenge each student's individuality, aiming to increase each student's self-confidence, poise and self-reliance. Conveying an enhanced appreciation of the fine arts and music, as well as improved posture and physical control for everyday life are additional goals of the school. The human body is such a complex instrument that training to be a dancer entails intense work and concentration, yet it offers each student one of the most rewarding, fulfilling, and enriching experiences of a lifetime!

Professional Supervisionflying dancer

The carefully selected professional faculty, rich in performance experience, has the expertise and background to offer excellence in dance training. The teachers strive to develop in each pupil as love and enjoyment of dance and the desire to master its technique. The credentials of the teachers ensure that the students will acquire proper physical and artistic development appropriate to his or her individual abilities. Attention to detail and refinement in training is reflected in the school's outstanding staff, many of whom still enjoy professional engagements as dancers as well as guest teacher positions throughout the world.

Performance Experience

Dance is a visual art to be expressed and witnessed. Most students of dance enjoy the art of performance. Presenting what one has learned and accomplished through dance training with a performance is one of the greatest dreams of most students. When properly prepared and encouraged, students exude self-confidence, enjoyment, and they experience the feeling of personal accomplishment. For this reason, ART puts on a professionally produced stage presentation every second year. Participation is by choice; however, the faculty highly recommends participation in this form of dance presentation as the students gain poise, group experience, and the chance to show their progress and the achievements of their hard work to family and friends!

History of ART

In 1991 Gretchen Bernard-Newburger married and a year later gave birth to her son. These two events and her love of the art of dance led her to the decision to found her own school. In October 1997, under the name "Atelier Rainbow", the school took flight on the wings of Ballerina Gretchen Bernard-Newburger. For the first five years, she alone taught up to 120 students a week. As the school expanded, additional professional staff were engaged. Even as a young, professional, artistic directors noticed Gretchen's attention to detail and love of dance, encouraging her to take apprentice dancers under her creative wing for the purpose of learning new repertoire. These experiences led to a newfound love of teaching and choreography. Learning from some of the world's finest dancers, dance teachers, and choreographers has provided her with a vast array of pedagogical techniques and a broad perspective for the art of dance. Gretchen exudes a contagiously optimistic approach in her teaching and choreography, bringing all of her professional experience, self-discipline, and knowledge to the students of her school. "Madame Gretchen" has the gift of inspiring and aiding young dancers, understanding fully through her lifelong experience in dance, how to nurture young talent. Madame Gretchen's direction and pedagogical style are infused with three important qualities: artistic vision, knowledge of technical traditions, and most of all, a passion to share the art of dance.

Über-uns

dancerVision

Atelier Rainbow Tanzkunst (ART) verkörpert die Idee, eine künstlerische Werkstatt zu schaffen, in der - dem Farbspiel des Regenbogens gleich - Tanz und Körperwahrnehmung als fortwährendes Spektrum organischer Bewegungen in Kreisen, Bögen und Spiralen gelehrt und erfahren werden.

Mission

Die Vermittlung neuer Techniken, Stile und Einflüsse, welche die Tanzkunst lebendig und flirrend erhalten, gehört zum Hauptfokus von ART. Künftigen Generationen von TänzerInnen öffnen sich dank der reichen Bühnenerfahrung des Lehrkörpers die Tore zum unerschöpflichen Erbe des Tanzes mit all seinen Traditionen und Legaten.

Philosophie und Geist

ART ist bestrebt, allen SchülerInnen Präzision, Geschick, Disziplin und Freude am Ausdruck im Tanz zu vermitteln, ungeachtet ihrer Ambitionen als Hobby- oder BerufstänzerInnen. Eines der wichtigsten Ziele ist es, eine positive Atmosphäre zu kreieren, die ein aufbauendes Training durch persönliche Aufmerksamkeit, Motivation und Inspiration ermöglicht. Jeder Studierende soll in seiner Individualität erfasst und respektiert werden. Die Förderung von Selbstvertrauen, Selbständigkeit und Selbstsicherheit gehört zu den weiteren Zielen der Schule. In der fundierten Tanzausbildung wird auch die Würdigung der schönen Künste und der Musik sowie das Bewusstsein einer guten Körperhaltung und -kontrolle vermittelt. Das Training zum Tänzer verlangt intensive Arbeit und Konzentration, da der menschliche Körper ein komplexes Instrument darstellt; gerade darum bietet die Tanzausbildung jedem Studierenden eine äusserst befriedigende, erfüllende und bereichernde Lebenserfahrung.

Professionelle Supervisionflying dancer

Der Lehrkörper setzt sich aus professionellen Instruktoren zusammen, welche dank ihrem fundierten Wissen und Können Gewähr für eine erstklassige Ausbildung bieten. Ihr Bestreben ist, in jeder SchülerIn sowohl die Liebe und Freude für den Tanz stetig wachsen zu lassen, als auch die individuellen Neigungen und Stärken laufend zu perfektionieren. Die Lehrer sind qualifiziert, um den Studierenden eine angemessene physische und künstlerische Entwicklung zu gewährleisten. Sowohl die Pflege zum Detail, wie auch die Verfeinerung des Trainings sind Gegenstand fortwährender Reflexion im Team des Lehrkörpers. Die Mehrheit der Unterrichtenden geniessen weiterhin Engagements als TänzerInnen, ChoreographInnen und GastlehrerInnen in allen Teilen der Welt.

Bühnenerfahrung

Der Tanz ist eine visuelle Kunst, die dargestellt und mit dem Publikum erlebt wird. Viele TanzschülerInnen geniessen diese Form der Vorstellung -Kunst: Für sie stellt die Bühne den grössten Traum dar, denn hier kann ihre erlernte und erreichte Fertigkeit zur Schau gestellt werden. Sind sie gut vorbereitet und unterstützt, strahlen sie dabei Freude und Selbstvertrauen aus und erfahren das Gefühl über sich selbst hinauszuwachsen. Um solche Bühnenerfahrung zu vermitteln, führt ART alle zwei Jahre eine professionell produzierte und präsentierte Produktion durch. Die Teilnahme dazu ist fakultativ, jedoch sehr empfehlenswert: Mit der Bühnenerfahrung wächst die Selbstsicherheit, die SchülerInnen erleben Gruppenarbeit und haben die Gelegenheit ihr Können ihren Familien und Freunden zu präsentieren!

Es war einmal... ART

1991 heiratete Gretchen Bernard-Newburger und gebar ein Jahr später ihren Sohn. Diese Ereignisse und die Liebe zur Tanzkunst halfen ihr bei dem Entschluss, eine eigene Tanzschule zu gründen. Im Oktober 1997 eröffnete sie, neben ihrer Tätigkeit als Gastballerina, ihre eigene Tanzschule unter dem Namen "Atelier Rainbow". In den ersten fünf Jahren wurden bis zu 120 SchülerInnen die Woche von Gretchen unterrichtet. Da die Schule wuchs, mussten weitere professionelle Lehrkräfte engagiert werden. Schon in ihrer aktiven Zeit als Solotänzerin im National Ballet of Canada, London Festival Ballet und Zürcher Ballet wurden die Balletdirektoren auf die Begabung von Gretchen aufmerksam und baten sie, den neuen TänzerInnen, das Repertoire beizubringen. Gretchen Bernard-Newburger ist mit einer sehr guten Technik, Einstellung, Ausdruck und einem vorbildlichen Optimismus ausgestattet. Ihre Erfahrungen fliessen in die Lektionen und die Choreographien hinein und werden an die Kinder und Jugendlichen weitergegeben. Der professionelle Hintergrund und die erworbene Disziplin sind Bestandteil des Unterrichts. "Madame Gretchen" hat die Gabe, die jungen TänzerInnen zu inspirieren, auf sie einzugehen und deren Talent zu fördern. Madame Gretchens Direktion und ihr pädagogischer Style zeichnet sich aus durch drei wichtige Eigenschaften: künstlerische Vision, Wissen der technischen Traditionen und, vor allem, eine Leidenschaft die Tanzkunst mitzuteilen und weiterzugeben.